5 REASONS WHY CHINA IS LAUGHING AT US

Illustration: Shen Lan/GT

                                   Illustration: Shen Lan/GT

I’m just a regular Tibetan working woman. And this is a small attempt to keep my fellow Tibetans reminded about why we need to go beyond our differences. Let me begin to remind you first that we share the same goal. We ultimately want our country back, so why do we keep making a fool out of ourselves? Communist China is growing mightier in terms of economy and raring to dominate the world as we speak, so what are we doing as Tibetans to counteract? Instead of building our grounds for a better future and strengthen our struggle for freedom, why are we indulging in the mere blame game and living in a bubble? Please, stop. Because they are laughing at us.

  1. Self-immolations

This is a grey matter. Keeping their noble intentions and purity of faith in perspective, I respect those who sought self-immolation as a method to show devotion to our country. But it’s high time we strongly appeal our brothers and sisters to live for our country because we’re already on the verge of disappearing as a minority group. It’s high time we keep pushing different methods of nonviolent action to fight for our justice. Because when we die, we are only making Chinese government’s job easier. They don’t need to kill us with guns anymore. They are laughing because we are dying. Not just the self-immolators, but the Tibetan spirit which is at the risk of dying. It dies every time we call names within our tiny pot of a community. It dies every time we reduce our freedom struggle to mere events of an uprising day and empty protests. Please, we need an awakened Tibetan spirit. We need to live for our country.  We cannot afford to die for our country because then, who will fight for us? Not the world, but us.

  1. Blame Game

It is beyond shameful that few ignorant Tibetans in New York city had the pleasure to create a rift within their regional organisations. By all means, this will remain as a taint in the history of Tibetan freedom struggle. What might be going on in their heads? Did they fall into the lapses of their idiocy or probably couldn’t help fight their genetics? Our frustrations towards these idiots are understandable. But let’s stop blaming them as though they are anti-Tibetan and try to see the bigger picture. We share the same blood, we belong to the same nation. I agree we have morons in our community who write in broken English and orgasm with their stardom. But let’s leave them alone. We can’t afford to look back and scream at our children in the house when the neighbours are throwing stones at us, laughing at us.

  1. Circus Election

I agree that our democracy is at a nascent stage. Even then, fair play and transparency are the essential foundations which we cannot dare to compromise. We cannot ignore the reports of an inefficient appointment of the election commission. The subsequent result was the failure to maintain a fair election. I could not stop laughing when I saw a Chithue candidate (also a local election commissioner) helping an old woman with her ballot. Remember, this was not for electing a class leader, this was for the future leadership of our exile government. What happened during the Chithue and Sikyong election? At that time, I was in our village. Everybody, from my relatives to the people on the road was demonizing a candidate which they believed was an “anti-Dalai lama”. When I asked them about the facts, they had nothing but a mere reason that he (allegedly) called His Holiness as a “largyen”.

Unless they can read that candidate’s mind, who are they to predispose his intentions behind calling that alleged moniker? I saw a couple of life-size posters of that candidate, torn and scratched off, as though in vengeance, which was clearly carried out by his haters. Who infused that sort of hatred and intolerance in them? Why is he looked at with so much animosity? I’m not a supporter of that candidate but deeply respect his vision to bring a change with this election campaign. Differences in opinions and agendas need to occur in a democracy, that’s why it is called a democracy. But see, we are attached to the comforts of our conservative mentality (which is the sole reason why we lost our country) and see crusaders as a threat. For China, it is definitely a fodder for their laughter because they see the rigidity of the Tibetan mindset. They see us being scared of embracing challenge and change in our community.

  1. You vs We

Before you begin to wonder which side I’m taking, I’ll tell you this. I’m not for Rangzen or Middle way. I stand for a Free Tibet. These chronic sidetracking divisions are confusing to me, and I feel it is also confusing to every other young Tibetan. I constantly meet people who ask me if I stand for Rangzen or Middle way as if I have to choose only one way. This kind of exclusivity only brings gap in our community and renders our youth lost, without a clear direction. If Rangzenpas are holding a campaign for Tibetan freedom struggle, we have heard about instances where Umeypas hesitate to corporate. Who is responsible for creating and nurturing this apparent divide? If I may ask, why is our exile government treating like stepmoms to those Rangzenpas?

I’ve seen the video of the Sikyong debate where Penpa Tsering was mentioning how he will keep all the Tibetans united. Contrary to this recent statement, he earlier refused to share the same stage with his opponent because of their differences in ideologies.

I was also at a youth empowerment workshop in Dharamsala (2013), when Penpa Tsering called out few names and their supporters as mere noises and disturbances. If he treats these prominent voices and other young supporters in such a poor taste, how is he likely to unite all Tibetans? I’m sorry but I’m not pleased with Lobsang Sangay either, for the reasons you all presumably know by now. As our Kasur Dicki Chhoyang puts it (recent statement dated 6th March), we need to elect a leader who can collaborate, mutually support, guide and encourage his people. Do you see any of this character trait in both the candidates? Ask yourself. We have a crucial responsibility to elect for the right man who can guide us towards our collective goal. We should not forget that.

  1. Emotion over Intelligence

I am tired of crying over our plight. I used to feel that I lost my country and this big bully of a red dragon is killing my brothers and sisters and robbing our very precious land. But not anymore. Because I knew that I was only crying out of self-pity and helplessness. Tibetans are not weak, they are naturally born as warriors. If a big bully in your class is strangling your neck, you need to fight back. You need to knock them down. So, my fellow Tibetans, especially young and educated ones, I urge you to stop acting out of emotions and educate yourself, make yourself skilled enough to fight for our cause. Plan, strategize and fight back. Remember, when you cry, they laugh.

